Black Polka Dots..no Fondant Or Gumpaste..ideas?

Decorating By __Jamie__ Updated 30 Dec 2008 , 11:30pm by __Jamie__

__Jamie__ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
__Jamie__ Posted 30 Dec 2008 , 5:20pm
post #1 of 17

I need to make some black polka dots. Not using gumpaste, and don't want to make up a batch of MMF for the little amount I will need.

What could I use? Flattened out black candies of some type? Other than licorice, I don't think that would taste good...I'm not good with recalling what candies are out there.

Anybody ever color tootsie rolls black? Hmmmm. What else...what else?

16 replies
jibbies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jibbies Posted 30 Dec 2008 , 5:31pm
post #2 of 17

You could pipe black buttercream polka dots in whatever size you need let them crust and apply to the cake or pipe them directly onto the cake.

Jibbies

__Jamie__ Posted 30 Dec 2008 , 5:34pm
post #3 of 17

Thanks! I still want to cut them out of something with a round cutter so they are all uniform in size. I am lousy at making perfect circles with icing.

KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 30 Dec 2008 , 5:45pm
post #4 of 17

chocolate clay??? mix melted choc. w/ corn syrup...you can make very small batches........either that or you can just color some melted chocolate black and pipe little dots, let them harden and then place them in the cake with the flat underside showing to the outside.

BrenW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BrenW Posted 30 Dec 2008 , 5:48pm
post #5 of 17

What about using the dark brown icon_biggrin.gif m&m's just put them on so that the M is not showing, or what about Junior Mints- too big for your polka dots?

__Jamie__ Posted 30 Dec 2008 , 5:50pm
post #6 of 17

Let's see, I haven't made the cake yet, but I think the dots need to be about 1 inch in diameter to achieve the desired look.

tcakes65 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tcakes65 Posted 30 Dec 2008 , 5:57pm
post #7 of 17