What Did I Do Wrong? Kisses In Cupcakes

Baking By sweetideas Updated 22 Dec 2008 , 9:49am by Jopalis

sweetideas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetideas Posted 20 Dec 2008 , 3:15pm
post #1 of 22

Ok, so I tried putting the peppermint kisses in my cupcakes, I've never done this before. I filled about 1/2 way, placed in the kiss, filled on top and baked according to the instructions. I tested one and it had cooled a bit but was still warm. I guess in my mind, I thought the kiss would have melted and it would be a gooey center. All I got was a hard kiss that was slightly scorched and sunk to the bottom of the cupcake, sticking to the wrapper. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks.

21 replies
lainalee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lainalee Posted 20 Dec 2008 , 3:37pm
post #2 of 22

Sorry can't help, I had the same problem with putting a piece of hersheys choc in them with the same result. Just thought I'd give you a BUMP icon_confused.gif

sweetideas Posted 20 Dec 2008 , 3:38pm
post #3 of 22

Thanks. I guess I'm not very good at this fancy stuff. icon_smile.gif

lardbutt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lardbutt Posted 20 Dec 2008 , 4:58pm
post #4 of 22

I would really like to know how to do this too! I hope somone has the answer for us.

sweet_teeth Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweet_teeth Posted 20 Dec 2008 , 5:05pm
post #5 of 22

I don't know if this is much of help, but I know when you make things like that the batter needs to be REALLY thick so things do sink to the bottom. I used to experiment all the time with baking in college.. and found that out after so many botched cupcake batches, lol.

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 20 Dec 2008 , 5:14pm
post #6 of 22

I am not a cupcake guru but if I was gonna do this, I would bake the cakes and right as they came out of the oven I'd smush in a kiss. I mean it's only gonna be like a giant chocolate chip at best.