Air Bubbles And Other Icing ?s

Baking By tootie0809 Updated 13 Dec 2008 , 1:21am by indydebi

tootie0809 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tootie0809 Posted 12 Dec 2008 , 3:57pm
post #1 of 5

I'm pretty new to cookies, but I'm having a blast playing around with all these wonderful Christmas cookie ideas and inspirations I've seen here.

My first question is how do I get rid of those tiny air bubbles that form in my RI as it starts to dry? I've tried popping them with a toothpick or running a small brush through the surface before it dries, but that seems to just make more.

Also, is there an RI recipe that stays shiny after it's dry? I love the look of the cookies when I first decorate them, but usually after letting them dry overnight, I'm disappointed in the matte finish they end up with when dry. I've tried Antonias RI recipe, Toba's Glace recipe, and the RI recipe in Cookie Craft and all of them dry matte. Any ideas for a shiny cookie?

Thanks!

4 replies
panchanewjersey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
panchanewjersey Posted 12 Dec 2008 , 4:14pm
post #2 of 5

As for shine I'm with you on that one. But I let mine sit overnight before I use it. I actually heard that's what you should do before using it and it really does work, it actually helps look less matte too. The reason I tell you this is that I've tried it both ways, but I still would like more shine.

SweetDreamsAT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetDreamsAT Posted 12 Dec 2008 , 4:17pm
post #3 of 5

Hi Tootie0809, and welcome to the madness!! icon_wink.gificon_lol.gif