Phone Call Kinda Irritated Me Today

Business By karateka Updated 18 Dec 2008 , 9:41pm by LanaC

karateka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karateka Posted 6 Dec 2008 , 3:15am
post #1 of 47

I get a call from a guy today. He gets on the phone and tells me that he usually deals with Bonnie Lynn Bakery but they don't seem to want to work with him on this.

I say ok.....he goes on:

"I design cakes for a living. My DD is having a birthday party and I need a 12in diameter 6in tall dome cake, half black, half piped like a sweater. I'm going to sculpt a penguin head and (other parts I don't remember precisely) and stick it into the cake. And I need this for tomorrow, since I need time before the party Sunday to do my part"

I'm thinking....

Ok, you tool.....you call me and expect this by tomorrow. (mind you, he called after noon)

Why call a custom cake shop and ask them to make PART of a custom cake??? RU Kidding me? Who would agree to that?

So would this annoy anybody else? Or am I just bitchy today?

46 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 6 Dec 2008 , 3:47am
post #2 of 47

Well, after I could stop laughing out loud, I'd ask him if he was really serious, that he wanted me to "slap a cake together" for him in this short of a time span? If he's a "cake designer" then he KNOWS what's involved.

I had one where the guy wanted a carved car cake ... by this afternoon!!! I said, "Do you know how many DAYS it takes to make a cake like that?" then referred him to the most expensive bakery in town. He said, in a little forlorn voice, that he'd already called them they said they needed more notice.

DUH!!!! icon_eek.gif

mkolmar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mkolmar Posted 6 Dec 2008 , 3:49am
post #3 of 47

icon_lol.gificon_lol.gificon_lol.gif HA HA HA! This is funny. HE DESIGNS CAKES FOR A LIVING....I highly doubt this otherwise he would have given advance notice. He should have known better being in the field and all icon_rolleyes.gif