Cursed Cake

Decorating By bizatchgirl Updated 4 Dec 2008 , 7:47pm by KoryAK

bizatchgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bizatchgirl Posted 21 Nov 2008 , 3:45am
post #1 of 26

OK, I'm a novice and a procrastinator so I always have a fair amount of difficulty. This week, the cake I made was just cursed and tried to get the best of me icon_evil.gif

Rent with boyfriend and boyfriend's brother. Boyfriend's brother hates cake days and kitchen cake-bomb. Was being grumpy Sunday and I didn't want to deal with it so I didn't bake. Big mistake.

Followed the wonderful instructions here for baking a belly in a big metal mixing bowl. No go. Cooked for 1 1/2 hour plus and still raw in the middle. Screamed and yelled at boyfriend about crappy oven and went to bed.

Next day, decided I better try a different pan. Got stubborn, went to parents' house and proceeded to try again with same metal mixing pan. Only this time, no flower nails to help distribute heat. Was looking more promising. Results not good. Another cake raw in the middle at over 1 hour 45 minutes. Stole some wet ingredients, because I was all out by then, and went home.

Mixed up the fastest two batches I've ever mixed up. Had the cake in the oven at about the 7 minute mark from walking in the door. Boyfriend had the coffee on. It was looking to be an all-nighter.

Cake is baking. Playing with new Satinice (never used it before). Dying it and decide to open my other new toy. A bendable metal blade made for cutting polymer clay. I thought it would be nice to cut fondant without getting those jagged edges. Well, not sure it would have made a difference, but I was not aware it was an actual BLADE. I thought it was just meant to cut by being thin and using pressure, like you do with the edge of your spatula. Well, bad packaging, no shield and fighting to open it, I sliced my finger right down the blade. Did you guess it yet? Blood all over my brand new, freshly colored, Satinice.