Need Ideas And Suggestions For Cookie Icing

Baking By Mickeebabe Updated 24 Nov 2008 , 8:36pm by Mickeebabe

Mickeebabe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mickeebabe Posted 21 Nov 2008 , 12:40am
post #1 of 16

I'm looking for ideas and suggestions for cookie icing. I've used fondant on my cookies and they seem to be a hit but I'm not thrilled with the taste. I know a lot of people use Royal Icing on their cookies but I'm afraid it'll be too hard.

So what do you use that looks good and tastes good too?

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I'll be using the NFSC recipe for my cookies (that's my favorite)

Thanks

Kimberly

15 replies
SILVERCAT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SILVERCAT Posted 21 Nov 2008 , 1:26am
post #2 of 16

Rolled buttercream!

Mickeebabe Posted 21 Nov 2008 , 3:39am
post #3 of 16

Thank you. Any hints or suggestions for the Rolled Buttercream since I've never used it before? Do I use the recipe on this site? Where do you buy the lemon and orange oi?

Anybody else have a favorite?

Honeydukes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BCJean Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BCJean Posted 21 Nov 2008 , 6:38am
post #5 of 16

This is the cookie icing I really like. The Crisco in it keeps it from getting hard, even after a week but it dries enough that you can stack the cookies without them sticking together. It is very tasty and easy to work with.

Cutout Cookie Icing

3 egg whites, at room temp.
Whip 2 min., fast speed or until stiff.
Add:
1/2 tsp. almond extract
1 tsp. vanilla
1 lb. powdered sugar
Mix.
Add:
2 TBS. Crisco
Mix on low speed until smooth.
(if you want to make a glaze from this, just add a little hot water.)

Jopalis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jopalis Posted 21 Nov 2008 , 6:44am
post #6 of 16