Please Help My First Wedding Cake

Decorating By hails Updated 15 Nov 2008 , 3:02am by momma28

hails Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hails Posted 14 Nov 2008 , 1:04pm
post #1 of 6

Good morning guys, hope you are having a super day.
So my friend has asked me to make her daughters wedding cake.
I told her I am no expert at this I am self taught, and just make cakes for family and friends, but she has seen my cakes and likes them. I am not charging her anything, but I want to
do a great job for them.It is for 100 people and she wants three tiered square cakes, and cupcakes awwwwwwwwwwww. Guys please any help you can throw my way will be greatly appreciated I made a small three tiered Christining cake for my nephews Christining I did not use support or cardboard between the layers but I am sure I will have to do it on this one as it is going to be bigger.Thanks again for your time and inputt.
Have a super day Hails icon_smile.gif

5 replies
stephaniescakenj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
stephaniescakenj Posted 14 Nov 2008 , 2:32pm
post #2 of 6

Holy cow, you got lucky on that cake!!!! Most definitely use cardboard and support between each tier and a center dowel, maybe look at SPS since it is a wedding cake. Square cakes are very heavy so make sure you use a sturdy base too.
One other thing I would suggest is looking through the square cake gallery and I think it's called the petit four gallery, I went through that one the other night and there are alot of cute cupcake displays. That will give you so many ideas!
Good Luck!

AlamoSweets Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AlamoSweets Posted 14 Nov 2008 , 2:41pm
post #3 of 6