Need Help Making Leaves

Decorating By Landert Updated 16 Nov 2008 , 2:16pm by Landert

Landert Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Landert Posted 12 Nov 2008 , 9:29pm
post #1 of 16

I am getting ready to make a centerpiece cake for Thanksgiving and I have seen leaves made out of chocolate and some from fondant and some from gumpaste. I have never worked with chocolate before and didn't know if anyone had any tips or recipes on how to make realistic leaves and how to color them also?????

15 replies
KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 12 Nov 2008 , 10:01pm
post #2 of 16

here are some cupcakes I made with chocolate fall leaves on them

all I did was paint the different colors of chocolate on a real leaf (some I did on a silk leaf, but the real leaf ones turned out nicer IMO) and then popped them in the freezer unti they were hard and then peeled the leaf off! Couln't be simpler!!
LL

jillmakescakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jillmakescakes Posted 12 Nov 2008 , 10:27pm
post #3 of 16

here are my leaves. I used them for a fall themed wedding cake. I make candy clay (1 bag of melts +1/3 cup corn syrup) in yellow, orange, red and green. I took a little of each color and ripped of little pieces and piled them into one big pile. I gently kneaded them together and then rolled them out and cut them with leaf cutters. I veined them with my wilton veining tool and dried them in flower formers.
LL

cathie_shinnick Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cathie_shinnick Posted 13 Nov 2008 , 1:12am
post #4 of 16

I make mine out of MMF use cookie cutters. Mix the different colored fondant together and roll, then cut out . I also paint them to make them more realistic. I dry them over papertowel rolls or anything round, so they look real. I also dust them with copper and gold luster dust.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 13 Nov 2008 , 1:35am
post #5 of 16