I'm A Beginner...

Decorating By He2_13 Updated 11 Nov 2008 , 4:29pm by CakeWhizz

He2_13 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
He2_13 Posted 11 Nov 2008 , 3:01pm
post #1 of 10

Okay, I'm very new to this. I've only done a couple of cakes. I was wondering how do I get started on learning how to make flowers and such out of fondant, or gum paste? I"ve seen a couple of pics explaining it and all. I'm just still not very knowledgable about all the tools involved and such.

9 replies
OhioBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
OhioBaker Posted 11 Nov 2008 , 3:12pm
post #2 of 10

Hello and welcome to CC...you'll soon find that this website will become your new addiction. icon_lol.gif

Without taking a class that is geared to these things, all I can suggest is RESEARCH, RESEARCH, RESEARCH. icon_wink.gif

This site is loaded with information from knowledgable people and they are all very kind to share what they know. Aside from CC, do a general search on the internet and see what you can find there. Then, it's up to you to practice until you get it right. icon_eek.gif

HTH

johnson6ofus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
johnson6ofus Posted 11 Nov 2008 , 3:37pm
post #3 of 10

Search youtube and expertvillage as well. It is hard to explain, but watching a video helps. You really need some basic skills to get the most out of this site. PRACTICE! There really is a motion and move to this. Playdoh helps too. This is modeling with sugar... icon_smile.gif

kandu001 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kandu001 Posted 11 Nov 2008 , 3:54pm
post #4 of 10

Welcome to CC. Practice using the fondant and gumpaste and see how it turns out. I know there are a few videos out there on Youtube.com and other sites. Good luck!

jenlg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenlg Posted 11 Nov 2008 , 3:59pm
post #5 of 10

My suggestions would be youtube like previously suggested. Have you taken the Wilton fondant course yet?

mmdiez10 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile