Gumpaste And Fondant

Decorating By WendyPowell Updated 11 Nov 2008 , 12:53am by WendyPowell

WendyPowell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
WendyPowell Posted 10 Nov 2008 , 12:35am
post #1 of 7

I am new to the cake decorating and have only tried fondant one time. I keep seeing gumpaste and wondered if it was the same as fondant. The one time I tried the fondant, it was not tasty! So I haven't tried it since. Does anyone know where I can buy tasty fondant and what is the difference between fondant and gumpaste? Thank You!

6 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 10 Nov 2008 , 12:52am
post #2 of 7

You can make your own fondant. There are several recipes on this site. One is MMF - marshmallow fondant.
You can add flavoring to ready made fondant; just knead it in.
Gumpaste is similar to fondant - you can add Tylose (a gum) to fondant so it has the stretch and drying of gp.
To make gp use Nic Lodge's recipe; it's basically royal icing properly made with Tylose added.

TC123 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TC123 Posted 10 Nov 2008 , 1:49am
post #3 of 7

Hi Wendy ~ Gumpaste is not the same as fondant, although both are used in decorating. Gumpaste tends to dry harder. You can roll it very thin and make lifelike flowers and such. I used it also for my current avatar, a baby bassinet, which was the cake topper for my niece's Christening cake. With regards to the taste of fondant, I don't use it that often. And while I have not tried it, I have seen rave reviews on this site for the taste of Marshmallow Fondant (MMF). .... Hope this helps! icon_smile.gif

tracycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tracycakes Posted 10 Nov 2008 , 2:46am
post #4 of 7

If you only tried Wilton, it is nasty. MMF is a popular fondant and I like to use Satin Ice. I order it from Global Sugar Art and it tastes pretty good too.

cathie_shinnick Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cathie_shinnick Posted 10 Nov 2008 , 1:14pm
post #5 of 7