Apathetic Americans P*** Me Off!!!

Lounge By barbaranoel Updated 16 Nov 2008 , 7:18pm by 7yyrt

barbaranoel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
barbaranoel Posted 5 Nov 2008 , 2:49am
post #1 of 43

I am a Presiding Judge for my precinct. I have been doing this for four years now.

The day started out with a bang - for 6 hrs we had 2+ hr wait going on. People started to line up at 5:30am and our lines didn't die down til after 12. They were saying up to 30% voted before today. By my "rough" estimations over 70% turnout today - that's AWESOME!

Only a couple of crappy people.

What's got my goat is the people who don't do anything. I talked to people in the last couple of days "no, I don't know who I'm voting for" " I don't care" .

C'mon FOLKS! It's your duty to vote. It's your job to find out what's going on. If you don't, if you don't like what is going on and you don't do anything about it, THEN SIT DOWN AND SHUT UP!

I talked to a guy from Mexico today. He was at the polls with a friend today while his friend voted. He was in awe with the whole process. He is literally counting down the days to til he becomes a citizen and is able to vote.

That is what our system is about. This is your chance to have your voice heard, your chance to have a say in your future. The pride I saw on his face when he talked about getting his citizenship and voting. This is what more of our people need to feel.

I don't care if you are Republican, Democrat or Independant - VOTE. That's what I look for. I am happy with the turnout today but really, too many people only vote Presidential races but really everything counts. Every Election, every vote.

Ok, I am getting off my soap box now. I just spent 16 hrs at the polls. And trust me, I don't do it for the money. I do it because I couldn't sit around anymore bitching and waiting for someone else to make decisions.

Besides, I like throwing off the average age of a poll worker icon_wink.gif

42 replies