Newbie Here...and I Have Questions

Decorating By angienfred820 Updated 30 Oct 2008 , 3:31pm by angienfred820

angienfred820 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
angienfred820 Posted 29 Oct 2008 , 5:05pm
post #1 of 5

Hi Everyone,

I was told about this site from my friend Sarah. I am from Sacramento, Ca and I like doing arts and crafts and have taken the basic cake classes from Michaels craft store.

I am making a cake for my duaghters first birthday and it is on SAturday NOvember 1st.

I am making a castle cake. I saw a picture on this site that I liked and I am going to attemt it.

So I need some help:

I am baking the cake today (well as I am typing)

Questions:
I hear a lot of people freeze or refriderate thier cake to help cool it down when I do this do I wrap it in plastic wrap?

When I crumb coat do I put it back in the fridge? If so for how long beofore I can but the icing on the cake?

When should I frost the cake? and decorate?

The only decorations I will have on the cake will be some roses, that I would like to make out of fondant. when should I start these roses? How long should they dry for?

The books tell me how to make everything but no time frame when constructing.

ANY help would be GREATLY appreciated.....

BTW.... I was a bit overwhelmed when I first started looking at this site.... There is sooo much to see....

Thanks in advance

Angie

4 replies
kelleym Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kelleym Posted 29 Oct 2008 , 6:20pm
post #2 of 5

Welcome to CakeCentral! You will learn more here than you ever dreamed possible!

Quote:
Quote:

I hear a lot of people freeze or refriderate thier cake to help cool it down when I do this do I wrap it in plastic wrap?