New To Cake Making.......help With Mmf ? Please

Decorating By micnic Updated 30 Oct 2008 , 1:32pm by micnic

micnic Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
micnic Posted 27 Oct 2008 , 2:52pm
post #1 of 8

I am brand new at cake making. I will be attempting to make a Mickey mouse Clubhouse cake for my son's 3rd birthday. I have a little over a month to experiment. Several of the decorations on the cake need to be made from fondant. I tried making a small batch of marshmallow fondant this weekend and playing with it. It was too sticky and I was unable to shape it. My recipe said to reduce the amount of water if it was too sticky but I only used 1 tbsp. to begin with. Do you have any suggestions or tips on what I should do to correct this? Any help is greatly appreciated. icon_smile.gif

7 replies
trumpetmidget Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
trumpetmidget Posted 27 Oct 2008 , 4:10pm
post #2 of 8

People on this site swear by MMF, so they are better judges on how to make it work. I have never had luck with it. If you can't get it to work, try toba garrets fondant recipe.
http://www.cakecentral.com/cake_recipe-2127-Toba-Garretts-fondant.html
That's the link to it. I use vanilla extract instead of what it calls for. I use glycerine, too, even though it says optional. I swear by it and it is the only fondant I use. HTH.

micnic Posted 27 Oct 2008 , 4:23pm
post #3 of 8

Oh, thanks so much! I will give this recipe a try and see if it works better for me.

theathea Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
theathea Posted 29 Oct 2008 , 4:47pm
post #4 of 8