Luster Dust

Decorating By kbw5780 Updated 5 Nov 2008 , 1:15am by chanelsmimi

kbw5780 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kbw5780 Posted 25 Oct 2008 , 3:29pm
post #1 of 10

okay, so this may be a crazy question, but since I am still learning, I'll never know til I ask...... When I luster dust an entire cake, how do I keep it from looking splotchy? I love to use this stuff and if just seems if I am using it over a large area, it just gets all splotcy and looks like crap when I am through. Please Help!!!!

Thanks!

9 replies
cakecookie6 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakecookie6 Posted 25 Oct 2008 , 3:33pm
post #2 of 10

Hi, Try using the luster sprays (the ones from PME are really good and coat the cake well. The bottle below works well: http://www.countrykitchensa.com/catalog/product.aspx?T=1&productId=632458

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 26 Oct 2008 , 1:39am
post #3 of 10

Dry brush it on. If it's blotchy either you are mixing it w/alcohol of somekind and it's too thin or your icing is wet somehow.

kbw5780 Posted 26 Oct 2008 , 2:42am
post #4 of 10

Thanks to both of you!!! I do dry brush it on, but sometimes it seems like I may have a bit more in one spot than another and my icing could be kind of moist or something..... I appreciate the responses!!!

chanelsmimi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chanelsmimi Posted 26 Oct 2008 , 4:08am
post #5 of 10

I'm a newbie as well and the luster dust seems cool. I would like to try it on the grand daughters cake. Can it be used with fondant? Prob a dumb question

kbw5780 Posted 26 Oct 2008 , 5:48pm
post #6 of 10

No question is a dumb question!!! How you gonna know if you don't ask?? I probably ask some crazy ones on here! LOL....Anyway, yes, you can use it on fondant or crusting buttercream. I have never used on the buttercream, but I have read on here that you can. I use on fondant ALL of the time. I love that stuff!!!!

chanelsmimi Posted 27 Oct 2008 , 1:55am
post #7 of 10