Dog From Rice Krispie Treats

Decorating By havingfun Updated 18 Oct 2008 , 7:28pm by Suebee

havingfun Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
havingfun Posted 15 Oct 2008 , 1:11pm
post #1 of 16

I need to shape a bassett hound from RK treats. Does anyone have helpful tips for this? I have never done this before, so anything from start to finish would be helpful. icon_lol.gif Thank you and have a great cake day!

15 replies
havingfun Posted 15 Oct 2008 , 11:07pm
post #2 of 16

No help???

cous2010 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cous2010 Posted 16 Oct 2008 , 1:19am
post #3 of 16

I'm not sure of how to help, but I'd love to hear any advice as well.

Here's a ::BUMP::

marriedtoagreek74 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
marriedtoagreek74 Posted 16 Oct 2008 , 11:40am
post #4 of 16

Does it have to be all RKT? I was going to make a Jack Russell sitting on top of a dog food bag (had emerg. surgery that nite, so didn't get to do it) but we had carved the basic head out of floral type foam and were going to add the ears and eyes, etc.

Is it going to be sitting or lying down? Could you use a loaf pan for the body and stack and carve as needed?

Here is a link to the Jack Russell that I was going to use, he is lying on his belly. Also someone was saying that if you have an ornament or figurine to look at that it helps alot, but I only gt to doing the head so, didn't get that far.

www.planetcake.com.au/couturecakes/birthday.php

Amy

cmnycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cmnycakes Posted 16 Oct 2008 , 12:24pm
post #5 of 16

I made Image this puppy from RKT. Basically I started by shaping and sculpting the RKT with my hands and did put a dowel all the way through. I think I let it dry for a day or so, wasn't intentional, just had to go to work icon_biggrin.gif.
It was then covered with fondant and airbrushed. Hope this helps

Mona
cakesbymona.com

eta : the image didn't show up. You can go to my website cakesbymona.com and go to sculpted cakes.