How To Start Off

Business By Cathy26 Updated 19 Oct 2008 , 7:42pm by Bonnie151

Cathy26 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cathy26 Posted 14 Oct 2008 , 7:59pm
post #1 of 8

Hi, I know this is a hugely open question but im just interested in how everyone here started up their business.

Im new to this, ive been baking for family and bringing in buns and traybakes to the law firm where i work for a few months but really love baking and want to take it further. ive invested in most of the cutters and nozzles, etc i need and have priced wholesale boxes and boards and am spending every weekend practising!

The thing is, i work full time so this is not going to be my full time job and i will be starting off so small i.e. word of mouth of friends and colleagues that im obviously not going to register as a business and pay tax and insurance and stuff like that yet.

The problem with that is obviously if someone reported me to the tax office (i live in the UK) or got food poisoning (unlikely i know). what would happen in a situation like this? I really want to hand out flyers round my neighbourhood but am scared of taking that step outside friends and colleagues!

Please Help!!!!

7 replies
taniabanana Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
taniabanana Posted 15 Oct 2008 , 8:21am
post #2 of 8

Hi Cathy,

I would really suggest getting insurance if you plan on selling anything. There is a company (A Plan) that will arrange insurance for home bakers and it's not too expensive. The IR will not take any tax until you make a profit. I am a bookkeeper, so I do my own returns but an accountant would help you make the most of your allowances. I have found Environmental Health very helpful in my area, and if you are only making cakes etc you won't have to jump through too many hoops. Food legislation is important, have you looked at the Food Standards Agency website? Labelling is VERY important. Trading standards will come down hard on you if that's not right.
HTH