Interview, For Cake Decorator

Decorating By lainalee Updated 8 Oct 2008 , 8:11pm by TJCanadian

lainalee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lainalee Posted 7 Oct 2008 , 3:20am
post #1 of 8

I have an interview tomorrow for a cake decorating position with a very well established company. What do I need to know? I havn't been to an interview in over a dozen yrs. I am new to this industry from a professional standpoint. I have been doing cakes from home for about 10 years. Please check out my pics, any advice would be welcome. icon_eek.gif

7 replies
TJCanadian Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TJCanadian Posted 7 Oct 2008 , 3:47am
post #2 of 8

Good Luck!! Be prepared with knowledge about their company, look through their website, have some relevant questions about procss they use, the materials. ...whether or not you need to supply any of your own equipment. Companies usually like it when you've done a little homework, know about articles where they've been featured, etc.

BCJean Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BCJean Posted 7 Oct 2008 , 4:13am
post #3 of 8

I would for sure check out their decorating style. Show confidence in yourself but don't make them think you want to come in and change everything. I agree, let them know you like their company and would be proud to be working with them, not for them.

If they ask you to decorate a cake for them, choose something kind of clever but something which can be done quickly. I would have something in mind before I went in. Almost every job I have ever applied for asked me to do a cake for them.

When they ask you what kind of pay you expect, have something in mind. Let them know you are creative and that you love working with cake and translating, what the customer wants...to the cake they were dreaming of.

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 7 Oct 2008 , 11:54am
post #4 of 8