To Be Taken Seriously

Decorating By sweettoothmom Updated 7 Oct 2008 , 5:06pm by sweettoothmom

sweettoothmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweettoothmom Posted 6 Oct 2008 , 9:30pm
post #1 of 7

.... in the world of confectionary delights do you need the educational background from culinary school?

Does self taught decorator make employers tuck tail and run?

With no schools available to me for thousands of miles, self taught is my only option. Can I obtain a book list from someone who has attened culinary school so that I may read up on the basics?

Is CIA, or ICE or Cordon Bleu the best culinary school?

6 replies
TooMuchCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TooMuchCake Posted 6 Oct 2008 , 9:43pm
post #2 of 7

Speaking strictly from personal experience - and others with different experiences can tell you how it went for them - I have no formal training and had three confection-related jobs. I quit work to spend more time with my family, but now that my son is about to be out on his own, I've already been offered a bakery manager position for a cafe opening in the next town over.

The bakery I worked in would not consider hiring culinary school grads. The reason being that whenever they gave it a try, the fresh grad tried to come in guns a-blazing and reinvent the bakery. No new hire has that right and it rubbed the owner wrong every time until he quit even considering them.

My advice to you would be to hone your own skills as much as you can with the resources you have at hand, keep a portfolio of your work, and let your work speak for itself.

HTH,
Deanna

sweettoothmom Posted 6 Oct 2008 , 10:17pm
post #3 of 7

Thank you too much cake. I think you make a very good point.

I will try to read read and bake bake. I do appreciate the input.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 6 Oct 2008 , 10:51pm
post #4 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by TooMuchCake