Dora Cake Help For Newbee

Decorating By kboothe Updated 16 May 2013 , 8:40am by 2txmedics

kboothe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kboothe Posted 4 Oct 2008 , 1:42am
post #1 of 10

I have been asked to do a Dora cake for my friends daughter. I am not sure how to create Dora and what to make her out of. I don't wanna do a bunch of stars to create the picture. I'm new at this but want to try some new things. Just not sure how to go about it. What are some good ideas to try? I am more that willing to try till I get it right.... icon_biggrin.gif

9 replies
Molly2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Molly2 Posted 4 Oct 2008 , 1:52am
post #2 of 10

Are you wanting to make a character cake or try your hand at gum paste figures or ?

Molly

KKC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KKC Posted 4 Oct 2008 , 2:03am
post #3 of 10

Gumpaste figures would be nice...also maybe an edible image!

auntiecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auntiecake Posted 4 Oct 2008 , 2:18am
post #4 of 10

I tell my students that coloring books are great sources for licensed characters. You can do chocolate transfers, gel method, buttercream transfers etc to get the picture on the cake. If you have access to edible image from a copier that works too. As a newbie I didn't know if you have one. I would love one, but someday. The colors is another way to depict Dora. Orange, Red, Purple, yellow I believe ones. You could also cut the shape out and decorate it like a character cake if you don't have a pan. Hope this helps a some.

tracey1970 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tracey1970 Posted 4 Oct 2008 , 2:19am
post #5 of 10

Try a frozen butter cream transfer. I did a Little Mermaid in my photos. They are easy enough to do and look realistic.

tonia3604 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tonia3604 Posted 4 Oct 2008 , 2:33am
post #6 of 10

kboothe-