How Much Fondant Needed For These Accents On Cake???

Decorating By sweetcravings Updated 2 Oct 2008 , 6:54pm by sweetcravings

sweetcravings Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetcravings Posted 1 Oct 2008 , 11:07pm
post #1 of 7

I'm really bad at estimating the amount of fondant needed for different cakes, esp since i've only recently just starting using it. I don't want to guess wrong since fondant is 6.00/lb at the local cake shop. By looking at this cake how much would you say i would have to buy?
LL

6 replies
SweetPea0613 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetPea0613 Posted 2 Oct 2008 , 6:02pm
post #2 of 7

If it's just for the accents then you shouldn't use that much. I think you should be fine with a pound or two. But i'm no expert.. icon_lol.gif

Hopefully someone else can help you better than I can.

apetricek Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
apetricek Posted 2 Oct 2008 , 6:25pm
post #3 of 7

If it is just for the accents, bow, stripes, and butterfly etc..and the cake is all buttercream, then I would say you would need about 2 pounds. Also has to do with what size cakes you are using. I would get 3 pounds just to be on the safe side, then you will have it. Nothing is worse than making a cake and running out of supplies! Hope this helps..good luck!

coffeechick Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
coffeechick Posted 2 Oct 2008 , 6:26pm
post #4 of 7

Hey, that cake is so cute you are going to do. I would suggest you would only need about 2 pounds. Thats pretty expensive for fondant. Have you ever tried to make your own fondant? Its so easy and it really cuts down on cost. It probably only cost less that 3.00 to make. Good luck.

cherie'

mandifrye Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mandifrye Posted 2 Oct 2008 , 6:28pm
post #5 of 7