Mmf Cracks And Tears...help!!!

Decorating By forthwife Updated 2 Oct 2008 , 2:56am by mandifrye

forthwife Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
forthwife Posted 30 Sep 2008 , 1:31pm
post #1 of 12

Hello: I've started using MMF because I'm new to this and making a TON of cakes and can't afford to buy Fondant. Only problem with MMF is it cracks and tears. Am I adding too much powdered sugar, too little water?!?! Thanks in advance for all the help.

11 replies
mandifrye Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mandifrye Posted 30 Sep 2008 , 3:13pm
post #2 of 12

It sounds like it may be a little too dry. Try working in a drop or two of water and adding a little more Crisco.

The crisco tends to help with flexibility and the water will keep it moist. Be careful to only add a drop of water at a time, a little goes a long way!

HTH

Shelly4481 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shelly4481 Posted 30 Sep 2008 , 3:36pm
post #3 of 12

When you make it try to put in less ps, you can always add more ps when rolling it out if it is too soft. Also put it in microwave for 5 seconds right before rolling it out and it softens it some.

forthwife Posted 30 Sep 2008 , 5:04pm
post #4 of 12

When you roll out your MF to cover the cake, do you grease the counter or use PS to keep it from sticking?? Thanks for the other tips, I'll start adding Corn Syrup and add less PS initially.

mandifrye Posted 30 Sep 2008 , 6:49pm
post #5 of 12

Not Corn Syrup, Crisco or vegetable shortening! Corn syrup will probably just make it more sticky icon_surprised.gif !

I always grease my countertop with crisco and then dust it with powdered sugar. I lift often as I am rolling it out (to prevent sticking). When I first started, I used a fondant mat from wilton (around $14 I think). It helped me judge the size and move the fondant ( I just picked the whole mat up and inverted it ontop of my cake). I wouldn't use it now, but it helped me get more familiar with the product.

HTH icon_biggrin.gif