Does Anyone Use White Fat For Roling Fondant On?

Decorating By kbaby Updated 1 Oct 2008 , 6:05pm by BlakesCakes

kbaby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kbaby Posted 29 Sep 2008 , 1:19pm
post #1 of 11

Im a newbie and only recently started making cakes. I find that when I roll the sugerpaste out on icing I end up with white marks all over the coloured sugerpaste that I cant brush off.

I read one of Lindy's books last night and she uses white vegtable fat for rolling on to avoid white marks.

Has anyone ever tried this and whats it like?

Thanks

10 replies
solascakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
solascakes Posted 29 Sep 2008 , 1:30pm
post #2 of 11

Hi, i roll on cling film and little icing sugar,that way i have little or no white marks, it does take lot of practice though as cling film tears easily.But it works perfectly for me.

angelcakesmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
angelcakesmom Posted 29 Sep 2008 , 1:42pm
post #3 of 11

I always use cooking spray, like PAM and avoid any white marks. icon_wink.gif

mjballinger Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mjballinger Posted 29 Sep 2008 , 1:44pm
post #4 of 11

Hi! I've used white veg. fat (Crisco) to roll on. Mostly when I feel I've made my fondant a bit to dry to begin with. It works well, but I don't really like that it's not quite as easy to pull up as when I use powdered sugar. I use it a lot more with gum paste to do flowers and such - it doesn't dry out quite so quickly then.

To get the powdered sugar off my sugarpaste, I use what I think is called a scruffy brush - I got it in the paint department at the craft store, it is rather thick, short and has soft bristles so that it doesn't mar the sugarpaste.

MissRobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MissRobin Posted 29 Sep 2008 , 1:46pm
post #5 of 11

I use veg shortening all the time, works great, I also use alot of cornstarch when necessary, per Sugarshack's DVD, and it works beautifully, just wipe of the CS marks with a little veg shortening.