What Size Box For A 12" Cake?

Decorating By mama5kiddos Updated 29 Sep 2008 , 6:37pm by mama5kiddos

mama5kiddos Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mama5kiddos Posted 28 Sep 2008 , 3:13pm
post #1 of 9

Since I am a newbie, my other orders for 12" round cakes were tiered ones, and I transported them w/o any box. My first cake order for a 12" round, I made the mistake of buying a 12" cake box. OOPS! I wasnt thinking right. I noticed my mistake as I was cutting the cake board out. I had to trim the "crust" off of the cake, which gave it JUST enough room on the sides for it to fit somewhat. The cake board underneath had about 1/4" showing. NOT good.
I told the customer I had made the mistake of getting a smaller box than I should have, but she said it's fine. The cake was in the fridge so the bc did harden a little, hopefully not much smearing went on before it was served!

My question, is where can I find a 13x13 or 14x14 cake box for my 12" cakes? Or do you all use regular (not "cake") boxes for some cakes?

8 replies
chutzpah Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chutzpah Posted 28 Sep 2008 , 3:24pm
post #2 of 9

Well, sending a cake out of your kitchen without a box is unhygienic.... and what are they supposed to hold on to? The right sized boxes really make things alot easier.... there is another thread going on in just about this same subject here:

http://forum.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-604718.html

As far as using 'regular' boxes..... make sure they are food safe, not boxes that the shoe store down the street gets their shipments in.

I have ordered sturdy boxes in food-safe corrugated for all my tiered cakes, in the sizes I use most. They weren't cheap, but I would say worth it. I add the cost to the price when I give customers a quote.

mama5kiddos Posted 28 Sep 2008 , 3:31pm
post #3 of 9