Practice Practice, Or Classes Classes??

Decorating By forthwife Updated 25 Sep 2008 , 12:29pm by JenniferMI

forthwife Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
forthwife Posted 24 Sep 2008 , 9:49pm
post #1 of 14

I'm quite new to caking (look at my posted pictures and you'll agree!!) and am wondering what is the BEST way to improve, or in my case, develop a technique. Bake a million cakes and practice decorating, or take classes. I've had Wilton One and Wilton Gumpaste/Fondant and I thought they were ok, but not amazing. I'm more interested in fondant than buttercream. Thanks for any and all advice. Additionally, I live in the Orlando area if you guys know of anything local.

13 replies
jenny518 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenny518 Posted 24 Sep 2008 , 11:59pm
post #2 of 14

Currently, my vote is practice. I've had some bad classes lately so I'm jaded....

DsLady614 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DsLady614 Posted 25 Sep 2008 , 12:06am
post #3 of 14

Yup! I'd agree. Practice, practice...and then practice some more. As with almost anything that's the only way you'll get better. Pick a technique you want to learn... and do it over and over until it makes sense.

fondantgrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fondantgrl Posted 25 Sep 2008 , 12:07am
post #4 of 14

Both.. icon_smile.gif

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 25 Sep 2008 , 12:11am
post #5 of 14

Some practice c an be done on cake dummies.
It does not take the place of working on a real cake. It just is differenticon_smile.gif
So for things like practicing piping designs; forming swags, cornelli lace, covering a cake w/fondant you can practice on the dummy then when you feel comfortable, make a cake.

jennifer7777 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jennifer7777 Posted 25 Sep 2008 , 12:13am
post #6 of 14