Idea For Reusable Raised Platform Cake Board For Vehicles?

Decorating By fruitsnack Updated 25 Sep 2008 , 9:54pm by mamacc

fruitsnack Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fruitsnack Posted 24 Sep 2008 , 6:56pm
post #1 of 12

This may seem like a simple question, but I'm just getting started.

I have a lot of family members who love vehicles, so I will be making a lot of vehicle cakes. For my son's birthday last year, I made a dump truck cake, where the cake was actually elevated above the main cake board, so that it would look like the wheels were supporting the truck. My husband made it the best way he knew how, but it was a beast. The bottom board was a thick piece of wood. There were four large dowel rods screwed into the bottom board, which were concealed by the cupcake wheels. There was a smaller piece of thick wood screwed into the top of the dowels to support the cake. It was huge and annoying to work with.

I was trying to figure out if there were a way to make a board similar to that, which might be lighter and possibly reusable (since, like I said, I plan on having to make many more vehicle cakes in the future). I don't know if I could go without screwing the bases together - I wasn't a big fan of that, since we had to use really big dowels so they wouldn't split. This year, I'm planning on making my son an ambulance cake, complete with flashing lights and working sirens if I can, and I would really like to use a different cake board. Any ideas?

11 replies
muddpuppy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
muddpuppy Posted 24 Sep 2008 , 7:03pm
post #2 of 12

I'd love to read the replies for this one!! I did a transport truck a while back with the same ides, foil covered wooden base on dowels to elevate it. I attached the lights to the base and it worked well but I agree, it's agrivating to work with!! I hope someone has a better plan!!!!

tiggy2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggy2 Posted 24 Sep 2008 , 7:36pm
post #3 of 12