What Do You Use???

Sugar Work By colabear71 Updated 27 Sep 2008 , 6:11am by colabear71

colabear71 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
colabear71 Posted 24 Sep 2008 , 2:49pm
post #1 of 9

I am a newbie and just worked with candy melts this past weekend. I had a cake to make and wanted some candy accents to add. I had purchased some molds and candy melts both online and at a local store. I didn't have any problems melting or molding, but the flavors...yikes.

I purchased Wilton white candy melts and the candy coloring set too. I had also purchased a package of Merckens online ( I had read about that brand being highly recommended here on cc). The taste difference was unbelievable. The Wilton brand had a bad after taste, so I thought maybe the melts were old and I checked out the date and realized they were only about 2 to 3 months old...

My question to everyone, what is your favorite brand of melts? Are there other brands out there? I would try using real chocolate, but I think I'm not ready to try tempering yet.

Kim icon_smile.gif

8 replies
playingwithsugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
playingwithsugar Posted 24 Sep 2008 , 3:14pm
post #2 of 9

I only use melts infrequently, and then, only for decorations which are not intended to be eaten (chocolate clay pieces only). But when I do use them, I use Merckens. Because you know there is always going to be some knucklehead who will put a piece of a decoration in their mouth, anyway.

I do not like Wilton melts at all - they taste like metal to me.

Theresa icon_smile.gif

sugarn-n-spice Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarn-n-spice Posted 25 Sep 2008 , 2:54pm
post #3 of 9

I was going to ask the same question today. Can you use regular chocolate chips and mix with some bark?

colabear71 Posted 25 Sep 2008 , 3:55pm
post #4 of 9

I have never used almond bark. I've seen it, but wasn't sure about it. What flavor does it have? Anyone know?? Can it be colored too?