Getting Your Name Out...

Decorating By lkoenig07 Updated 25 Sep 2008 , 3:35pm by leah_s

lkoenig07 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lkoenig07 Posted 20 Sep 2008 , 12:24am
post #1 of 9

Hi all,
I'm fairly new to cake decorating, but it's something that I've been picking up on pretty fast, and I'm taking the Wilton courses. I've made some cakes for family & friends, and I have an order for a wedding cake next spring for someone from my church. My question is... I really want to get my name out there & start making cakes every now & then for people other than family & friends. How can I go about this?? Thank you!

8 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 20 Sep 2008 , 1:43am
post #2 of 9

Well, the first step is to make sure you're legal. 'Cause once your name gets "out there" you'll need to be inspected, probably get incorporated, buy insurance, etc.

To get your name in circulation, it's all about advertising. Passing out biz cards, well placed ads, samples to other vendors, influencial people (people who come in contact with a lot of people.)

hyperswife Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hyperswife Posted 20 Sep 2008 , 2:29am
post #3 of 9

I'm kind a in the same boat as you lkoenig. I made a cake for a friend's baby shower and now I found I love it. To get me name out there I'm using my family and friends. I take "pratice" cakes to work and have my co-works try them. And every time I make a cake for someone I take along business cards to hand out. It is a slow process but so far it is working. I have several cakes due by the end of the year and even some for next year. Just keep reminding people of what you can do.
I haven't done the whole legal thing yet, mostly because I can't afford it. And in CA you can't make cakes for "customers" out of your home. So right now I do it just for friends and family, and some friends of friends.
Good luck and keep at it, soon everyone will know your name.