Help - Is This Cake To Plain?

Decorating By Unisteph Updated 20 Sep 2008 , 1:43am by Unisteph

Unisteph Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Unisteph Posted 19 Sep 2008 , 6:52pm
post #1 of 9

Hi everyone-
Let me first start by saying that I am in awe of all of you!! You are all very very talented! I am a newbie to this site although I have been browsing for a few weeks. I am no where near the level of decorating that most of you are but I enjoy it none the less icon_biggrin.gif . You can see some of my cakes by looking in my file.
We are having a combined 30th & 40th birthday party for my sisters tomorrow night. It is kind of a luau/cocktail theme. I made two sheets cakes (one for each of them). They will be side by side on the cake table. I just feel that they are missing something and look plain. I added some sugar sprinkles to them but they still seem blah. thumbsdown.gif I wanted to border to resemble a lei ( I saw some ideas on this site) and then I added the fruity cocktail to the top but it just seems like its missing something. Should I add more flowers on the top or would that be over kill?
I usually jsut do cakes for family so this is the first time anyone outsiders will be seeing my work. Pretty scary!!! Any suggestions or ideas or should I just leave them as is.
LL
LL

8 replies
jammjenks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jammjenks Posted 19 Sep 2008 , 7:05pm
post #2 of 9

If you'll look at the sailor hat photo in my gallery, I have a wavy "frame" around the perimeter of the top. You may try something like that. It helps to fill in space and looks nice too. I do it with a basketweave tip.

BTW- your cakes look nice. Keep up the good work.

7yyrt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
7yyrt Posted 19 Sep 2008 , 7:22pm
post #3 of 9