Absolute Beginner Needing Icing Advice/tips Please

Decorating By ruthieb1975 Updated 18 Sep 2008 , 11:28am by ruthieb1975

ruthieb1975 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ruthieb1975 Posted 17 Sep 2008 , 1:48pm
post #1 of 5

Hi, I hope this is the correct place to post this.
I need your tips on decorating a cake. My son, who is going to be 4 has requested a Roary the Racing car cake (see link if you don't know who that is!)

http://www.woolworths.co.uk/product_images/13/63/60/13636014.jpg

Anyway, I have decided to give it a shot myself, as I have 3 boys and I thought it would be a useful skill to learn.

When I say I'm a beginner, I mean I've made sponge cakes with butter icing before. lol

I think I'm ok with the shape (did a practice run last week) but when it comes to the icing it was a disaster. I used the type that you buy and roll out. It turned out very soft and sort of melted, and the appearance of the cake was bumpy.

Would rolling the icing thicker help?
Should I use a layer of marzipan first?
Should I try to do the icing in sections?
Do I need to refrigerate for the icing to set?
Should I use a confectioners glaze?

Any other tips relating to icing/decorating that you think might help will be most appreciated. I promise I'll post a picture of it if I can work out how.

Thanks[/url]

4 replies
mom2leelee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mom2leelee Posted 17 Sep 2008 , 1:53pm
post #2 of 5

Well I'm pretty much a beginner myself so I don't have any great advice for you but I hope you find someone to help you! It looks like a pretty challenging cake to make!

Juds2323 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Juds2323 Posted 17 Sep 2008 , 3:39pm
post #3 of 5

Hi just a few things that I thought of and this will also give you a bump for more experienced decorator.