Help! What Happened? Please "analyze" This Recipe

Baking By sugargirl4 Updated 18 Sep 2008 , 6:21pm by Pookie59

sugargirl4 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugargirl4 Posted 16 Sep 2008 , 11:23pm
post #1 of 14

I made these today, and they turned out less than desirable, and I KNOW I'm a better baker than this!

Super Peanut Butter Drops
1C PB
1/2C gran sugar
1/2 brown sugar
1t baking soda
2 eggs
1/2C flour
1C semi sweet chips

The fact that there is a whole cup of PB and only 1/2 C flour made me a little leary, and sure enough, they turned out too flat and "greasy".
WAAAAHHHH! icon_cry.gif

Does the peanut butter make a difference?
What kind should I be using? Or is that not the problem, do you think?

Advice?

icon_sad.gif

13 replies
giraffe11 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
giraffe11 Posted 16 Sep 2008 , 11:35pm
post #2 of 14

I don't really know what you did, but I tried a Martha recipe that was similar, except that it had about 1/2 the sugar of your recipe.
It had been rated highly on her site, so I tried it, but they were Terrible!!! Couldn't even get my 3 year old or 18 month old to eat them and usually they are all about carbs. I had wanted to take them to a picnic, but ended up throwing them away. Every once in a while a bad recipe just gets ya!
Maybe someone else can help you fix it. I myself just threw out the recipe and started looking for another.....so many recipes, so little time..... icon_smile.gif
Heather

cakesbymindysue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesbymindysue Posted 16 Sep 2008 , 11:36pm
post #3 of 14

No expert here, but yeah, only a 1/2 cup of flour doesn't sound like enough with that much peanut butter and 2 eggs. I think I'd try increasing the flour until it got to a consistency I was more comfortable with.

pugmama1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pugmama1 Posted 16 Sep 2008 , 11:37pm
post #4 of 14