Gumpaste Animals

Decorating By jenniefah Updated 17 Sep 2008 , 7:23am by ceshell

jenniefah Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenniefah Posted 15 Sep 2008 , 9:39pm
post #1 of 8

Hey, this is my first time making a cake like this, I bought some gumpaste (just to start off with) but I'm having the hardest time dying it (I ended up dying everything BUT the gumpast thumbsdown.gif )and shaping it.

We plan on making my daughters party jungle themed so if anyone knows where I can find some tutorials on how to make the jungle animals, I'd really appreciate it! thanks. icon_smile.gif

7 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 16 Sep 2008 , 3:24am
post #2 of 8

What did you use to try to color your gumpaste?
Are you using grocery store tiny bottles of food coloring? You need to get some paste/gel colors for cake decorating. You can get them at places like Michael's; JoAnn's Crafts; AC Moore and even WalMart.
As for a tutorial....there are a couple on this site -- at least one on the home pg on making tiny teddy bears. Much of what is covered there will work for other animals. Otherwise, get a book on making polymer clay critters....found at the same places mentioined above.

icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 16 Sep 2008 , 3:33am
post #3 of 8

kakeladi, is right..... i use 50/50 gumpaste and fondant when i make animals or people.... sometime i make pastillage.... but you have more time working with it using 50/50 gumpaste/fondant.... the paste colors or gel colors are best.... i use a toothpick and make some stripes over the medium i use... then you knead.... pull and stretch it until it is all one color... hth

jenniefah Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenniefah Posted 16 Sep 2008 , 6:28am
post #4 of 8

Thanks for responding. I got the wiltons coloring from walmart, I actually got this whole little tool kit, it came with a bunch of colors, icing tips, bags etc.