Rolled Buttercream Question

Baking By shiney Updated 22 Sep 2008 , 12:42pm by janebrophy

shiney Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shiney Posted 12 Sep 2008 , 3:12pm
post #1 of 20

So, I've never used RBC before, but want to give it a try. The only recipe I saw on CC called for orange oil and lemon oil. Is there a recipe that does not include that? I live in small town, haven't seen it at our wal-mart. You RI and Toba glace users, have you ever tried RBC? thumbs_up.gif or thumbsdown.gif ? Your thoughts?
Thanks
Shiney

19 replies
janebrophy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
janebrophy Posted 14 Sep 2008 , 3:08pm
post #2 of 20

I was just wondering the same thing! What is orange/lemon oil?? The only lemon oil I know of is the stuff I use to clean my wood furniture! LOL

shiney Posted 14 Sep 2008 , 4:55pm
post #3 of 20

Jane, I couldn't actually find the oils at our wal-mart, but I did find another recipe on the net that does not call for that.
I think I worded my question wrong, I was hoping for some feedback on RBC, it looks nice, It looks like it's icing like is on cakes, I think it would taste fabulous on a cookie! I'm wondering if it has to set before adding RI decor, so the colors won't bleed. Anyone?

janebrophy Posted 14 Sep 2008 , 7:43pm
post #4 of 20

Shiney,
Not sure if it has to set, I'm actually getting ready to use it tomorrow for the first time. I'm going to try it on cookies. Where did you find the recipe, if you don't mind my asking. Not to hijack your thread, but at least it'll give you a bump! Incidentally, I bought orange and lemon extract, thought I'd try them out, as I couldn't find the oils...

shiney Posted 14 Sep 2008 , 7:47pm
post #5 of 20

Jane, I'm going to give it a shot today. I think it was on allrecipes.com (?), I just googled rolled buttercream and saw that one.
http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Rolled-Buttercream-Fondant/Detail.aspx
Hope that link worked

janebrophy Posted 14 Sep 2008 , 8:01pm
post #6 of 20

Thanks,