Should I Freeze The Cake Or Place It In The Fridge??

Decorating By Iva1976 Updated 11 Sep 2008 , 4:11am by mqguffey

Iva1976 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Iva1976 Posted 11 Sep 2008 , 3:39am
post #1 of 5

I just baked 2 10in square white cakes and I am wondering if I should freeze it or put it in the fridge? I need to frost and lay fondant on it tomorrow in the afternoon, where do I store it?

I'm new to cake decorating and this will be my first real cake I lay fondant on. Not sure what filling to use, I dont want to use something that will ooze out of the cake......Any recommendations?

4 replies
VickiChicki Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
VickiChicki Posted 11 Sep 2008 , 3:58am
post #2 of 5

OK - This is just from my own personal experience - you do not need to freeze or refrgerate if you are covering the very next day - just wrap the cakes well in plastic wrap.
As far as filling goes - be sure to pipe a "dam" around the perimeter of the cake, then place your filling inside that to make sure it does not ooze out. Put top layer on...
then ice cake! icon_biggrin.gif

mqguffey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mqguffey Posted 11 Sep 2008 , 4:01am
post #3 of 5

I would freeze, I've found frozen and thawed cakes to be so moist. Just pull out an hour or two before leveling and icing.

For white cake, i love a thin layer of raspberry jam. But that may be just me, most people seem to prefer buttercream icon_smile.gif

kimblyd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kimblyd Posted 11 Sep 2008 , 4:05am
post #4 of 5

I don't think it is mandatory that you do either just for one night. The cake should be fine sitting out on the counter. I would wrap it in Saran Wrap or Press N Seal though. I refrigerate all of my cakes because it makes them easier to handle and seems to cut down on the crumbs.