Flower Nail Left In Cake!!!

Decorating By tyty Updated 8 Sep 2008 , 4:02am by tyty

tyty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tyty Posted 7 Sep 2008 , 7:10pm
post #1 of 23

I baked a cake about 1 week ago. Cake was cooled then wrapped in saran wrap and foil and placed in freezer along with the flower nail. Is the cake ok? Or should I bake another?

22 replies
rezzygirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rezzygirl Posted 7 Sep 2008 , 7:18pm
post #2 of 23

I would just check to make sure there is no rust around the area where the nail was. If not it should be fine, if so, you can probably remove that area or just rebake.

lilyanddayne Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lilyanddayne Posted 7 Sep 2008 , 7:18pm
post #3 of 23

It should be fine! I'm not a pro, but it doesn't sound like a big deal.

terrier Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
terrier Posted 7 Sep 2008 , 7:41pm
post #4 of 23

The nail shouldn't rust! Icing tips and flower nails are made out of Stainless steel... The cake is fine!

1234me Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
1234me Posted 7 Sep 2008 , 7:43pm
post #5 of 23

I always worry this will happen to me!

rezzygirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rezzygirl Posted 7 Sep 2008 , 8:14pm
post #6 of 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by terrier

The nail shouldn't rust! Icing tips and flower nails are made out of Stainless steel... The cake is fine!

Not all of them are stainless. Some are aluminum or other mixed metals and will rust.

tyty Posted 7 Sep 2008 , 10:32pm
post #7 of 23

I was a Wilton flower nail. Is it stainless?

terrier Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
terrier Posted 7 Sep 2008 , 11:51pm
post #8 of 23

Most Wilton products are....anyways this is off their site...

Quote:
Quote:

Provides the control you need when piping icing flowers. Just rotate the nail between your fingers as you pipe a flower on the head. Stainless steel.

If you are worried could you not just take the cake out and pull the nail out?

Cheers,
ally