Gumpaste Pros - Help Me Please! Tia!

Decorating By CakeMakar Updated 5 Sep 2008 , 12:19am by lorrieg

CakeMakar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeMakar Posted 4 Sep 2008 , 6:38pm
post #1 of 5

I've never worked with gumpaste before, but I'm doing a cake for next Saturday that I need it for. I bought Wilton gumpaste.

Can you give me some pointers on how to work with it? I am going to make this guy's headband:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/c/c9/Jiraiya_main.jpg

Do I use powdered sugar/cornstarch? Can I airbrush it after its dry without it "melting?" Any pointers for making it?

Thanks so much!

(Any ideas for that crazy hair would be helpful too!)

4 replies
Hollysuann Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Hollysuann Posted 4 Sep 2008 , 7:07pm
post #2 of 5

I just finished doing some work with gumpaste and found that if you use too much powdered sugar it dries it out real bad. I used a small amount of shortening on my hands to get it to soften up. If it's sticking to my mat or my hands, I just reapply the shortening.

CakeMakar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeMakar Posted 4 Sep 2008 , 9:10pm
post #3 of 5

Thanks! No PS, got it. icon_biggrin.gif

Anyone else got some pointers, please? I'm so nervous about it - I just keep looking at it on the counter. icon_biggrin.gif

bashini Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bashini Posted 4 Sep 2008 , 9:14pm
post #4 of 5

Don't use gumapste alone. Use 50/50 gumpaste and fondant. It is more pliable and give you the time to play with it and get the final effect. And it drys really hard. I don't know whether you can airbrush it, as I haven't done it.

You can use a bit of cornstarch to stop it sticking.

HTH.

lorrieg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lorrieg Posted 5 Sep 2008 , 12:19am
post #5 of 5

When you take the gumpaste out of the package pinch off the amount you would like to use. Wrap the rest back up.