Can It Be Spared?!?!?!

Decorating By Postal_Cakemaker Updated 5 Sep 2008 , 12:29am by kakeladi

Postal_Cakemaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Postal_Cakemaker Posted 4 Sep 2008 , 5:04pm
post #1 of 6

Baking my first wedding cake today. (Wedding this Saturday 9/7).

It's a three tiered cake. The first two tiers came out great!!!

The bottom tier was a different story. Since I'm new to this I have only one pan of each and was baking two, 2" cakes to put together with raspberry filling. The bottom was baked and out of the oven and cooling in the pan. I cut the top off and it wasn't exactly smooth so I flipped it onto a cake board, turned my back to do something and when I turned around it had cracked in half!!

My question is can it be spared or do I need to make another?? If it can I was going to make it the top.

Appreciate any and all advice!!!

5 replies
janelwaters Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
janelwaters Posted 4 Sep 2008 , 5:12pm
post #2 of 6

Because its the bottom tier and the one needed for support, I would rebake. I know its not what you want to hear, but better safe than sorry!

If it makes you feel any better, last weekend I dropped a cake on the floor and it broke into a million pieces! I mean it literally rolled right off the cooling rack and onto the floor - at midnight!

Good luck!!

Postal_Cakemaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Postal_Cakemaker Posted 4 Sep 2008 , 5:15pm
post #3 of 6

I'll probably re-bake so it's done the right way.

I'll try making some cake balls out of the disaster.

A million pieces!!! Wow I would have FREAKED out on that one!!

janelwaters Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
janelwaters Posted 4 Sep 2008 , 9:12pm
post #4 of 6

I did - I screamed a cuss word and then because I was mad decided that husband should be up and mad with me - so I woke him up to tell him that I dropped the cake. And he said "are you alright", to which I replied (very loudly) - "NO, I'm not alright, I dropped the damn cake!!"