Need 70 Cupcakes And Some Help...

Baking By mndy204 Updated 29 Aug 2008 , 7:58pm by Tatusky

mndy204 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mndy204 Posted 29 Aug 2008 , 3:03pm
post #1 of 16

Hi all. I am relatively new to this site and have been lurking a while, commenting on photos, etc. My question is this, I have just gotten my first paying job, YAY!! I need to make 70 football themed cupcakes to take to my sister's work for football day. They want me to charge for all of my supplies and add enough in to make a profit. I'm totally lost on what to charge to make a profit. I'm pretty new to all of this, but I think that the football cupcakes can be without a lot of stress.

What would you all charge for a beginner just wanting some experience?

Also does anyone have any tips on whether or not I should do homemade cupcakes or box?

Thank you all so much!!

15 replies
babybundt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
babybundt Posted 29 Aug 2008 , 3:10pm
post #2 of 16

i use a box mix for my cupcakes and get lots of compliments on them.so i think a box mix would work fine. a lot of folks add up the cost to make the cupcakes and then multiply that by 3 to get the price to charge. i hope that helps.............

step0nmi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
step0nmi Posted 29 Aug 2008 , 3:20pm
post #3 of 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by babybundt

i use a box mix for my cupcakes and get lots of compliments on them.so i think a box mix would work fine. a lot of folks add up the cost to make the cupcakes and then multiply that by 3 to get the price to charge. i hope that helps.............

totally agree! don't forget that you can start making them a day in advance! you can just put them in a container so they don't dry out. thumbs_up.gif and I think that a $1 a cupcake for a beginner is a good starting price. I think that would make a profit for you! icon_biggrin.gif Good luck!

melvin01 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melvin01 Posted 29 Aug 2008 , 3:37pm
post #4 of 16