Sheet Cakes...1 Or 2 Layers?

Decorating By kteacher027 Updated 28 Aug 2008 , 6:40pm by kteacher027

kteacher027 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kteacher027 Posted 28 Aug 2008 , 1:51pm
post #1 of 8

This may be a silly question...but when you all make sheet cakes (two 9"x13" size..side by side)...do you make 1 or 2 layers for the sheet cake? I'm doing 2 flavors. Just would like advice. People are starting to ask me to make them cakes...and I'm excited. Also about how much do you charge? I'm new to all this...but have taken 3 courses and LOVE IT. I absolutely am addicted to this site as well icon_biggrin.gif

Thanks!
Kelly

7 replies
jammjenks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jammjenks Posted 28 Aug 2008 , 2:03pm
post #2 of 8

I always do one layer for sheet cakes, but you'll find mixed answers there. Lots of people do two layers. It would really come down to how much your customer needed and how they wanted it.

As for pricing, that is a very gray area. Lots of things, such as overhead, ingredients costs, time involved, local competition, etc., factor in to pricing. What you need to determine is how much you want to charge per serving and multiply that. Some people charge only $1 while others charge $4 and up. A good place to start is to check around with local bakeries and see how much they charge for comparable cakes. A word to the wise is to not sell yourself short from the beginning. It is difficult to raise prices after you have a good client base started.

Good luck and congrats on getting these orders!

charleezgal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
charleezgal Posted 28 Aug 2008 , 2:06pm
post #3 of 8

I'm learning that there are no silly cake questions. It's a process that everyone has to go through........including me!