Sugarshack's Stacking Method

Decorating By notjustcake Updated 23 Aug 2008 , 5:26am by 2muchsugar

notjustcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
notjustcake Posted 22 Aug 2008 , 6:29pm
post #1 of 12

I have been told that for stacking a 4 tier cake, it is best to use the single plate support system but seems pricey and would have to ordered online.

I've been decorating cakes for 2 years now, but have my very first wedding cake next month and was thinking about investing on the sugarshack videos. I have one question for those of you who already own it.
What is her stacking method? that she shows in the video?Straws, sp system or dowels? on her video which one seems easiest?
I'm asking cause I need to know if I need order any supplies before I get the stacking video. I'm getting the stacking and buttercream video.

Thank you for any help I get.
me

11 replies
deeb173 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
deeb173 Posted 22 Aug 2008 , 7:53pm
post #2 of 12

I have her stacking video and just love it. In the video she uses the straws on each layer with 2 dowels running down in the cake. The first covers 3 layers and is off center then the last is thru all the tiers and is down the middle....she mentions that it lets them work against each other to give it more stablility.......I really would invest in her video I just love it.

tiggy2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggy2 Posted 22 Aug 2008 , 8:00pm
post #3 of 12

I have all of her DVDs and wouldn't trade them for anything. However, I use the sps instead of the straws when stacking. I just personally think it's a better support system and after having problems with dowels I just don't trust the straws. JMO

SugaredUp Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugaredUp Posted 22 Aug 2008 , 8:08pm
post #4 of 12