Cherry Flavored Cake Recipe?

Decorating By MacsMom Updated 26 Aug 2008 , 6:43pm by sadsmile

MacsMom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MacsMom Posted 19 Aug 2008 , 3:46pm
post #1 of 16

Does anyone have a cherry flavored cake recipe to share?

I am making a "Chocolate Covered Cherry" cake and planning to use cherry and almond extracts with the WASC recipe, but I've never done it before and was hoping to find a good cherry cake recipe that is more than just adding maraschino cherries to cake batter.

(It will have mini-chocolate chips and a cherry-chocolate-fudge filling)

15 replies
MacsMom Posted 19 Aug 2008 , 11:48pm
post #2 of 16

Alrighty then. If no one has a recipe to share with me, here's one I found to share with you!

3 eggs
1/4 cup water
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 box white cake mix
1 small box of cherry jello
3/4 cup reserved marashino cherry juice
1 jar (16 oz size) maraschino cherries; drained and coarsely chopped

Preheat oven to 350. Beat eggs on high speed until foamy, about 2 minutes. Blend water and oil with eggs. Slowly add cake mix and jell-o, beating constantly. Add maraschino cherries juice and beat for 2 additional minutes.

Gently stir maraschino cherries into the batter.

KoryAK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KoryAK Posted 19 Aug 2008 , 11:54pm
post #3 of 16

Try the coffee syrups... they come in all types of flavors. You can add them to the batter and the simple syrup.

marybible Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
marybible Posted 20 Aug 2008 , 12:58am
post #4 of 16

Wow that recipe sounds awesome. I would like to try it myself sometime. Let us know how it turns out.

sadsmile Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sadsmile Posted 25 Aug 2008 , 6:44pm
post #5 of 16