State Fair Competitions

Decorating By kakelady00009 Updated 21 Aug 2008 , 12:31pm by loriemoms

kakelady00009 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakelady00009 Posted 19 Aug 2008 , 3:37pm
post #1 of 6

I am very new to the competition scene (zero competitions!). I am interested in entering the NC State Fair-decorated cakes category- but I can't seem to find the "theme". I know I have read before that others have a theme, but do all of them? I noticed that there are several different categories ie: wedding-buttercream, wedding buttercream-gumpaste decos, shaped-buttercream, novelty-buttercream, etc....are these the "themes"?
I'm sorry to babble on, but I am a little hesitant and would like some info from you "forum fanatics"! icon_lol.gif

Thanks for your inspirations and help,
Melissa

5 replies
cakedout Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakedout Posted 19 Aug 2008 , 5:21pm
post #2 of 6

Welcome to the world or cake competition! icon_smile.gif I remember how nervous I was for my first show! icon_cry.gificon_eek.gif

the categories you listed are just that: the categories - within those categories you can create any design within the category guidelines/requirements.

Sometimes there may be a specified 'theme' within a category, such as "Christmas" in a tiered cake category. (and remember, if the category says "tiered cake", that doesn't mean it MUST look like a wedding cake! And bigger isn't always better! icon_wink.gif And remember, only one entry per category.

Are there skill-level divisions in the fair competition: Beginner, Intermediate, Professional, Master ? Or is it all just "Open"? If there are divisions, make sure to correctly place yourself.