My Cake Flour Has A Metallic Taste!?!

Decorating By chelseafitz Updated 5 Sep 2015 , 10:36am by Shockolata

chelseafitz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chelseafitz Posted 16 Aug 2008 , 4:35am
post #1 of 4

Hi everyone, I bought a box of cake flour and used it to make a red velvet cake, it came out looking great but tasted really strange, it almost had a metallic taste to it. I thought it might have been a strange reaction between the vanilla, soda and cocoa. A few days later I got my flour out to make another cake and smelled the same metallic smell. I tasted the flour and it tasted just like the red velvet cake. It was the softasilk brand. I have never used cake flour before, but I am pretty sure it is not supposed to have that metallic taste, has anyone else heard of this or had this happen??

3 replies
KoryAK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KoryAK Posted 16 Aug 2008 , 5:29am
post #2 of 4

Check the expiration date, flour can go rancid... which I guess could be described as a metallic smell/taste.

KTKTKDKaKeS Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KTKTKDKaKeS Posted 5 Sep 2015 , 9:06am
post #3 of 4

I am trying to make a birthday cake for a friend's father, and I am having the same problem!!!  My cake flour is igood until November 2016 and I just bought it Thursday of this week!  The two cakes I made with it tasted absolutely horrible! I threw them out in the corn   I have been trying to make a scratch white cake for his white cake request but five cakes failed!! What a waste!!  The good tasting ones called for whole eggs, so they weren't truly white.  I am at my wits' end, and cakes 6 & 7 are box mixes, which I absolutely hate, but at this point I just do not know what to do.  I dislike the taste of box white cake  I would much rather have an off-white color with a good flavor than stark white with poor flavor, but what the heck are you supposed to do?!  I have been up all night. I am exhausted and angry that there is not an easier way.