What Is The Best Rolling Pin For Fondant?

Decorating By crazy4cupcakes Updated 12 Aug 2008 , 5:24am by crazy4cupcakes

crazy4cupcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crazy4cupcakes Posted 11 Aug 2008 , 1:21pm
post #1 of 12

Hi all,

I'm new to using fondant and I am taking Wilton Course 3. We need to use a rolling pin and believe it or not I don't have a rolling pin. So I just need some advice from experienced fondant users. What type of rolling pin do you use?

I've been looking at the regular wooden one with handles, Wilton all purpose rolling pin (plastic with handles) and the Wilton fondant rolling pin (plastic with no handles). I am guessing that Wilton fondant one would probably be best as it is non stick, but I'm wondering if it is a pain to use as it doesn't have any handles.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

11 replies
TOMAY Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TOMAY Posted 11 Aug 2008 , 1:26pm
post #2 of 12

I love my french rolling pin that I brought from Walmart it was not expensive made from wood its a little longer so its real good for larger cakes. I also use a silicon kitchen aid roller purchased from target . Both were economical and both work well .

snowshoe1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
snowshoe1 Posted 11 Aug 2008 , 1:26pm
post #3 of 12

I have an 18" aluminum rolling pin with handles and love it. The barrel is quite thick (maybe 4" (?)) - but the rolling pin is very lightweight despite the size.

I've seen others using PVC pipe cut to the length they want and it seems to work well for them; but I need the handles.

CoutureCakeCreations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CoutureCakeCreations Posted 11 Aug 2008 , 1:37pm
post #4 of 12

I just use the regular wilton fondant rolling pin. I have not had any problems with it.

jibbies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jibbies Posted 11 Aug 2008 , 1:44pm
post #5 of 12