Big Time Potential Client........question?

Business By Cakebelle Updated 18 Aug 2008 , 1:47pm by wrightway777

Cakebelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakebelle Posted 9 Aug 2008 , 8:11pm
post #1 of 17

Hi all,
I've been a big fan of CC eversince I came across the website. Love it! icon_biggrin.gif
I have a question that maybe someone can help answer. I have to meet with the owner of a very prestigious country club, and they want me to do their wedding cakes. Now, I have been doing cakes from a commercial space for 5 years, and the legal end is all taken care of. My question is- do country clubs out source their wedding cakes, don't they have in-house pastry chefs for that? What should I expect from this meeting? I'm nervous because this is the most lucrative oppurtunity that has come my way till date, I really don't want to screw it up!

TIA

Vicky.

16 replies
Mike1394 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mike1394 Posted 9 Aug 2008 , 8:34pm
post #2 of 17

Very cool, good luck. Why are they outsourcing? Who knows, who cares? They must've seen your work, and it's better than the quality they are getting now, whether that's in house, or not.

Mike

FromScratch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FromScratch Posted 9 Aug 2008 , 8:36pm
post #3 of 17

Yes.. good luck. A lot of times they don't have pastry chefs. they will get their desserts from a commercial supplier and they come in frozen and they just have to thaw them. I'll be sending some good cake ju ju for you! Good Luck!!!

CoutureCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CoutureCake Posted 9 Aug 2008 , 8:44pm
post #4 of 17