Viva V Parchment Paper

Decorating By tx_cupcake Updated 9 Aug 2008 , 6:32pm by tx_cupcake

tx_cupcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tx_cupcake Posted 9 Aug 2008 , 3:40pm
post #1 of 10

I am a bc newbie, and last night I made my first cake iced entirely with bc and I am not all that pleased with how it turned out. Firstly, I think I over-whipped the bc, but mostly I couldn't figure out how to smooth it out as much as I wanted - to achieve the fondant effect.

I've taken the Wilton classes where the use of parchment paper is advocated as the prime smoothing agent, but I've read a lot here on CC about using Viva paper towels.

Which is better? Last night I used parchment paper (it's what I had), and like I said, I think the results were less than stellar.

I really want to get better with bc! Any advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks.
LL

9 replies
tonedna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tonedna Posted 9 Aug 2008 , 3:55pm
post #2 of 10

I dont like the parchment paper myself. I teach Wilton and I dont teach the students the parchment way. I teach them the Viva paper.
The cake looks beautiful. I never over whip my buttercream as it seems to bring more air into the mix, but that changes from person to person. And I use high ratio shortening, cause it makes the buttercream smoother.
I have a small tutorial on Youtube on how I do it

Edna icon_biggrin.gif

Moorecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Moorecakes Posted 9 Aug 2008 , 3:59pm
post #3 of 10

I've heard of using Viva paper towels mostly, I have tried it, I have NOT tried smoothing with parchment paper, but was told to place parchment paper in the cake pans to bake for easy removal and less likely to crumble and get bumps.....Hope this helps!
Oh, Ithink your cake looks great, super cute!

Mencked Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mencked Posted 9 Aug 2008 , 4:00pm
post #4 of 10