Covering A Cold Cake In Fondant?

Decorating By January202 Updated 10 Aug 2008 , 4:05am by January202

January202 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
January202 Posted 9 Aug 2008 , 12:57pm
post #1 of 11

I have a cake that has been sitting in the refrigerator overnight. It is a carved cake with intricate details to the shape. I put it in the refrigerator so that it would stay firm, and not lose the shape that took me forever to carve. The cake is iced with a crumb coat. Can I put the Satin Ice on the cake if it is fresh from the refrigerator, or must I let the cake "warm up" a bit? I fear condensation forming on the fondant if I do not let the cake warm up, but I do not want to lose the complexity of the shape if it is not kept in the refrigeration. Any tips, ideas, etc.? Thank you in advance!

Oh! And any tips on covering my complex cake in fondant would be appreciated as well! I have never done anything this detailed before.

10 replies
jibbies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jibbies Posted 9 Aug 2008 , 1:19pm
post #2 of 11

I would be inclined to let the cake warm up some for fear of the condensation making the fondant slide off of the crumb coat. As far as tips on covering with fondan I don't know the particulars of your cake but I have found that it is easier to have a much larger piece of fondant that necessary to cover well and start from the top and work down
Have fun, hope this helps.

Jibbies

lanibird Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lanibird Posted 9 Aug 2008 , 1:48pm
post #3 of 11

I can't really help with how to fondant the complex design, maybe just start at the top and go slow.

I use SMBC, so most of the cakes are cold when I put the fondant on, and I've never really had problems with the fondant slipping, but then again, I've only done squares and rounds. But, the condensation forming will make the fondant sticky, and a little hard to work with.