Wilton Instructor

Decorating By cupcakers Updated 27 Aug 2008 , 1:51pm by zubia

cupcakers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakers Posted 8 Aug 2008 , 1:14am
post #1 of 23

I know I have seen this subject before but I searched and searched and came up with nothing.I applied to be a Wilton instructor at Michael's.I know a lot of you out there are instructors and I just wanted to know what you think about the job and how the pay is.I love decorating so I thought I would enjoy it.Please give me any input you have.Thanks icon_smile.gif

22 replies
Tashablueyes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tashablueyes Posted 8 Aug 2008 , 3:14am
post #2 of 23

I'd be curious to know too, I actually enjoy the classes, but I have a hard time not "contributing" because I'm just relearning things I already know.

lilmansmum Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lilmansmum Posted 8 Aug 2008 , 3:36am
post #3 of 23

I am a Wilton instructor at A.C. Moore. It is fun teaching the classes, but I certainly don't do it for the pay, that's for sure. By the time you pay for gas, supplies, etc., you don't make very much $, if any. You have to use your own supplies to teach the class. The classes last 2 hours, 4 times a month...and I also spend time preparing for class each week. So once you calculate the time involved, the expense for the supplies used, the gas, etc.....it all adds up.

I get paid around $120 for a 4-week class up to 4 students (I think...don't quote me on that, because I don't remember exactly....but that's close) I get paid a few dollars extra if there are more students. So the bottom line is, I do it because I love cake decorating, and I love teaching others the art of cake decorating.....NOT because the pay is good.

yellobutterfly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yellobutterfly Posted 8 Aug 2008 , 3:39am
post #4 of 23