Chocolate Chip Cut Out Cookies...is It Possible?

Baking By Momma2three Updated 5 Aug 2008 , 7:35pm by emccle

Momma2three Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Momma2three Posted 2 Aug 2008 , 8:05pm
post #1 of 13

Hi all. I am a newbie and I have a question. My twin's birthday party is next saturday and my daughter does not want a cake...she wants chocolate chip flamingo cookies! I have a flaming cookie cutter, but I need to know if it is possible to make cut out cookies with chocolate chip cookie dough? Also, what is the best frosting to use on a decorated cookie? Royal icing?

Thanks for anyone who can help!

12 replies
Honeydukes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Honeydukes Posted 2 Aug 2008 , 10:40pm
post #2 of 13

Karen has a great CC rolled cookie recipe on her site plus lots of other information.

http://www.karenscookies.net/shop/recipes/info_11.html

The icing is a matter of preference. I like a glaze. Many folks have great success with the Antonia74 royal icing. Karen has a buttercream recipe that some have used and said nice things about it.

The two most popular cookie icing recipes on Cake Central.

http://forum.cakecentral.com/cake_recipe-2119-Toba-Garretts-Glace-Icing.html
http://forum.cakecentral.com/cake_recipe-1983-Antonia74-Royal-Icing.html

http://www.cakecentral.com/article54-How-To-Bake--Decorate-Cookies.html

HTH!

ziggytarheel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ziggytarheel Posted 2 Aug 2008 , 10:47pm
post #3 of 13

What about shortbread cookies with mini-chocolate chips?

Or convincing her to have chocolate cookies?

Or making sugar cookies and having some sort of chocolate icing? I know, not a traditional flamingo.

snowshoe1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
snowshoe1 Posted 5 Aug 2008 , 2:23pm
post #4 of 13

I would second Honeydukes suggestion for karenscookies.net recipe. It works great; very little, if any, spreading and a nice taste. thumbs_up.gif