Newbie Here- Cake Storage Q? (Fridge/counter/freeze?)

Decorating By valnor319 Updated 1 Aug 2008 , 5:18pm by terrylee

valnor319 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
valnor319 Posted 1 Aug 2008 , 2:07pm
post #1 of 3

Hi!

I am very new to this and decided to make my daughter a birthday cake this year. So far I've just baked some 9" rounds and a shorter 6" set to go on top. (my husband thinks he can handle making a castle cake. we'll see).

The party is tomorrow. The cakes are cooled and sitting, unstacked/separated on cake boards covered in foil.

Now what? Do I store them in the fridge or leave them out? If I leave them out do they need to be covered somehow? (I don't have a cake storage thing. What about foil or plastic wrap?) I made some buttercream icing and put it in tupperware in the fridge. I'm assuming I can't frost it/decorate it until tmrw?

Thanks for listening to a naive newbie's questions!!!!!
~Lindsay

2 replies
bsharp Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bsharp Posted 1 Aug 2008 , 4:59pm
post #2 of 3

Its not going to hurt anything leaving them out on the counter. When I do this I will put a crumb coat on them(very thin layer of icing). After you let the crumb coat sit for a while, hour or so, you can go ahead and frost it. You can also decorate it now that they are cooled. I have done this lots of times. Be sure and cover them with a large enough box or something to keep little "dusties" icon_smile.gif off of cake. Using a crumb coat is great. It helps to keep any little crumbs out of your icing when you go to decorate. I hope this helps, good luck with your cake. Sounds like you have a pretty neat hubby. Betty

terrylee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
terrylee Posted 1 Aug 2008 , 5:18pm
post #3 of 3