Just Got A Part Time Decorator Offer

Decorating By AmandaPanda Updated 30 Jul 2008 , 11:46pm by AmandaPanda

AmandaPanda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AmandaPanda Posted 28 Jul 2008 , 4:00am
post #1 of 19

Wow it has been FOREVER since I have been on the board! I miss you all!

Onto my question. I just got a job offer from the local bakery ... they are a great bakery and the offer came pretty funny actually I called in to complain that they sold me the wrong cake. Honest mistake, it was NOT a preorder I just walked in and orderd a cake and their ganache covered cakes were not labled and I thought I was getting a coc cake with raspberry filling but it turned out to be a white cake with cherry filling and I told them I did NOT like cherry .... anyway I called to complain. they gave me a gift cert and they asked if I came in often and I told them no, that I am a baker so I normally do not order from bakeries but I have had their cakes at my kids friend's b'day parties and really liked them so I decided to give them my business.

The guy asked how my business has been and I let him know that I normally just do cakes for family and friends so it can be slow at times. He asked me what kind of cakes I made and when I mentioned that I do wedding and custom birthday cakes (fondant) he told me that he is looking for another part time decorator. I just went from part time to full time at my job now (I work at home) but today is my first day full time and the day I start full time I get offered another part time job doing what I really WANT to do.